Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Terror casts a shadow over the race for the White House

1235»

Comments

• Options
    MaxPBMaxPB Posts: 37,607
    Here are the numbers according to the IMF (2016, USD, tn):

1. USA - 18.6
    - EU - 16.5
    - EU ex-UK 13.7
    2. China - 11.4
    3. Japan - 4.4
    4. Germany - 3.5
    5. UK - 2.8
    6. France - 2.5

Hardly mid ranking. Truly an insight into the EUphile mind.
  • Options

Mr. 86, the media's good at repeating the current consensus and regurgitating press releases, and not much more. There are exceptions, but not many.

Mr. Llama, whilst true, Newton's views on light were wrong (or, at best, incomplete) but his reputation meant his views went almost unchallenged for centuries [a scientific consensus is no guarantee of being right].

Having trained as a mathematician I am never convinced by the idea of scientific consensus. Either there is proof or there is not proof in which case all one has is a conjecture.

The idea of scientific consensus is no more than the general agreement of wise men. Throughout human history such agreements has been, time after time, proved to be wrong.
    Having trained as a scientist, I know that proof is not a part of science. Consensus is the closest that science can come to proof. There is, for example, consensus that theories such as those of Newton and Einstein are good descriptions of certain aspects of reality, but there is no proof.
    Err There is proof. Einstein forecast that gravity would bend light..It is now proven .
    Newtonian physics works - in a limted fashion.
    That's evidence it isn't proof.
  • Options
    CD13 said:

Mr PB,

"Anyone looking forward to PollyT on BBC DP?
    Bitter lady upset with Labour and the Tories...rant rant rant."