Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » The fight to succeed TMay – part 127

2»

Comments

• Options
    IanB2IanB2 Posts: 47,222

IanB2 said:

Lol. Gove's proposals have already, twice, been kicked several years off into the long grass due to Tory vested interest, and the pressure to abandon or water them down still further continues.

I don't think that's entirely fair, in the same way that crticising people asking for a longish Brexit transition is unfair. My day job is partly to respond to what Gove is doing - I spend hours every day discussing it, writing about it and organiing campigns on it and trying to get it improved. I'd be very pleased if he could implement it all tomorrow. But it's not reasonble to expect big farms to lose their subsidies overnight, and if the end result is much more humane and environmentally-friendly farming, I'm willing to accept a few years to do it.

The risk, as you imply, is that the substance gets watered down under pressure or by a future SofS. But for now I think he's doing a good job.
    I was picking up the 'good things about Brexit' point of the OP rather than intending to criticise Gove per se. I agree that his proposals were imaginative and positive, but clearly he has been nobbled. The facts of the matter are as I gave them - the timetable has been twice deferred already and there is continuing pressure from big landowners to kick them further into touch.
  • Options

Mr. HYUFD, unsurprising given the far left statistical idiocy expressed by Oxfam on the subject. They seem more concerned by inequality than poverty, and relative poverty (a harmful fiction concocted by those with a desire to perpetuate myths and believed by those statistically uninformed) than absolute poverty (ie not having enough money to live on).

Mr Dancer

If we get rid of the inequality, does not the poverty automatically disappear?
  • Options