Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Options

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Number 10’s power-grab is sowing the seeds of its own failure

123457»

Comments

• Options
    isamisam Posts: 40,894
    Oh blimey, Caroline Flack has killed herself
  • Options
    stodgestodge Posts: 12,822
    FF43 said:

To me, maybe uniquely, we are now entering the interesting phase of Brexit, and the one I have been anticipating for the last three years. Having decided to go ahead we have no good choices, but very important choices have to be made. It's a shame the debate has all but dried up.

On whether Leave choice was the right one, I would have thought the fact Brexit won't deliver what Leavers said it would deliver suggests an answer to that question

I'm not sure - the LEAVE vote was largely a vote of dissatisfaction and discontent across a range of issues which became crystallised by the notion that within the EU the UK was increasingly powerless and the right to be what we chose to be had been removed from us and we would be whatever the EU directed or drifted into.

This notion of sovereignty or control or whatever you want to call it is all well and good but we now need to have the big debate which is to ask ourselves what kind of country and society we do want to be in the 2020s and beyond.

This is the difficult stuff - I've argued here before leaving the EU provides an opportunity for the UK to re-think the nation state from the ground up and re-define such an entity for the 21st Century which might mean less Government, more devolution and an erosion of what has been the cohesive identity and the creation of something new.