Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Safe as houses?

124»

Comments

• NigelbNigelb Posts: 61,590

rcs1000 said:

MaxPB said:

MaxPB said:

Apple transitioning away from Intel to ARM

... for their computers as well as iPhones.
    Good for the UK Technology Industry?

No. The Japanese bought ARM a year or two back. They own it now.
    Son/SoftBank have made so many bad bets that I wouldn't be surprised if they had to float it again to raise capital to cover losses in other parts of the business.
    WeWork says hello :-)
    It's not just WeWork. Loads of vision fund bets have gone really badly.
    If I'd performed one tenth as poorly as the Vision Fund when I was a Fund Manager, I would have been fired.

Ultimately, Softbank has done two shrewd things:

(1) it bought Vodafone Japan at the bottom of the market
    (2) it invested in Alibaba when it was a tiny company

Other than that there are a lot of duds.

With my insurance telematics industry hat on, I can you that Softbank got completely legged over when it invested $500m in Cambridge Mobile Telematics at a c. $3bn valuation.

Compass, a US realtor, was also at a completely absurd price.
    Is SoftBank interested in Vodafone Group? It's already been run into the ground, will be very cheap soon.
    Softbank - the outfit that invested in a satellite constellation (OneWeb) that was going head to head with SpaceX.

On launch price.

By launching with ESA.

I wish I could have pitched them my scheme for bio-diesel from peanuts grown in Africa....
    Going back to the ARM/silicon aspect.

"Apple’s Mac chips are expected to be built by Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing" (NYTimes)

If I was an Apple exec I would be worried about the deteriorating geopolitical situation in that corner of Asia.
    Which is perhaps one of the reasons a new TSMC fab is being mooted in the US.
  • rcs1000rcs1000 Posts: 53,778
    Charles said: