Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » Another day goes by and still 48 CON MPs have not sent letters

12346»

Comments

• The_ApocalypseThe_Apocalypse Posts: 7,830
    Speaking of coming to get people, the knives are out for the Labour Leavers who voted with the government today:
    https://twitter.com/owenjones84/status/1019282500978401280?s=21
  • justin124justin124 Posts: 11,527

Out of interest would it actually be likely to be in a position to have a GE within 2 weeks of a VONC? I'm no GE expert but it doesn't seem like very long.

Not be possible - a minimum of 25 working days - ie 5 weeks - between a Dissolution and Polling Day. In practice , likely to be at least 6 weeks.
  • bigjohnowlsbigjohnowls Posts: 21,723
    Poll in Times
  • williamglennwilliamglenn Posts: 47,789
    rcs1000 said:

Sean_F said:

Sean_F said:

Don't get this nonsense from Tory sources. A GE vote in 2 weeks would have been won by the Government, unless a load of Moggsters decided Corbyn was better than May.

Or am I missing something?

The only MP I could imagine refusing to support the government on a vote of confidence is Sarah Wollaston.
    Didn’t we ever get to the bottom of how someone who was supposedly a Brexiteer managed to do such a handbrake turn in such a short space of time?
    No one had thought of her as a Brexiteer, until she suddenly said she was.

I guess that supporting Brexit was just a momentary aberration.
    To be fair, she actually wrote quite a good article on why we should Leave before she reversed course. IIRC, she didn't like the Turkey poster and felt Leave was playing to baser instincts.
    She said she defected over the bogus NHS pledge and threat to the economy.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/jun/09/dr-sarah-wollaston-defects-vote-leave-remain-campaign
  • RoyalBlueRoyalBlue Posts: 3,223
    brendan16 said: