Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

politicalbetting.com » Blog Archive » It’s now down to an evens chance in the betting that the UK wi

Comments

• williamglennwilliamglenn Posts: 47,787

An interesting article on how Chief Whip Julian Smith is hoping to herd the cats:

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2018/nov/30/julian-smith-chief-whip-may-brexit

The key paragraph is this one, echoing a point @Big_G_NorthWales has made:

A key tactic for the Brexit vote is to allow all the other options to be voted on via MPs submitting amendments, and let them fail first, forcing MPs to consider May’s deal as the only realistic option on the table. The Smith argument is that none of the various alternatives command a majority in the Commons.

Alas Mr Smith is no longer my MP, so I can't write to him urging him to vote against May's deal.

As I am now a resident of the Shipley constituency, I don't think my current MP needs any persuasion!
    With respect I do not think you appreciate the process under this procedure
    I fully understand the process. May argues her case to the nation, and we are then meant to urge our MPs to vote the way we want them to. Well, May has failed to persuade me of the merits of her deal, so I am very happy that my MP will be voting against. That he gets to take his better half into the lobby with him is just icing on the cake.
    You have just made my case.

Under the meaningful vote each amendment will be voted on including second referendum, no deal, moving A50, labours wrecking deal, norway etc, and as each falls the final meaningful deal with be on TM deal. In those circumstances the HOC will vote for, as anything else will collapse the markets as all other options are exhausted and no deal is default

The only caveat is of course that if any amendment passed and was attached to the meaningful vote, the attached amendment on the deal would pass